Fun Times with Weapons and Art Style Changes

(Note: this post is picture-heavy but that is probably a good thing for you! Less of my rambling to skim through!)

This month has been filled with exciting news! Some of which I couldn’t announce yet, and an important one regarding my gamedev progress will be released some time next week. (You’ll see what I mean but until then I thank you for your patience.)

I’ve been busy churning out more sprites for Project: Mittens, so here’s a glimpse of our concept weapon art. Some of the items shown didn’t make it to the demo unfortunately.

projectmittens_weapons

Shown are the possible weapons for the wizard and engineer classes.

The gun is probably my favorite one, since I usually don’t draw guns, so it was fun looking up antique/steampunk-looking ones. Perhaps in the full game it will?

Ninja and Monk's possible weapons.

Ninja and Monk’s possible weapons.

I also finally have an update regarding my visual novel (Which Shall Remain Nameless apparently because I’m horrible with titles). Aside from gamedev I had a major art block regarding my drawings for the past few months, and just felt that even things I sketched out just didn’t seem right no matter how much I worked on them. So I took a break to focus on more things like sprites and coding.

Earlier this week I realized I could try mixing two styles I had done in the past, one which was more anime-like and had done for several years, the other more recent as of this year. So last night I went back and did a sketch of one of the VN’s characters, Catherine. She seems to be a popular “model” for me, must be the hair and the fact that she hides one eye so symmetry isn’t so much of an issue? Not that I have a problem with symmetry anyway.

While the sketch took longer than my normal ones, it was worth ironing out, and I am very satisfied with the result. I hope you are too! Here’s a comparison of my progression so you can see what I mean.

An example of my older works in the style I mentioned. (She's actually from the same world that the VN is set but that's for another day.)

An example of my older works in the style I mentioned. (She’s actually from the same universe that the VN is set but that’s for another day.)

Original sample avatar.

Original sample avatar.

2nd version of sample avatar.

2nd version of sample avatar.

Concept sketch for avatar style as of last night.

Concept sketch for new avatar style as of last night.

So far it seems the hybrid of the two works best, and I’ve had some good feedback from others already! The progression seems slight but little details make a big difference, and the more I can work with the hybrid style, the more art you’ll see more of soon!

As of coloring, while I do more of a watercolor-like technique these days, I also plan to test it out with more of a graphical look too. I normally don’t do the latter though, as I generally don’t do harsh lineart (and that looks best with that type of stuff), but I’d like to hear opinions anyway!

3 thoughts on “Fun Times with Weapons and Art Style Changes

  1. Pingback: Switching gears (aka Help I’ve Fallen Into Excel Spreadsheets and I Can’t Get Up!) | Vectors and Syntax

  2. Pingback: Achievement Unlocked! “Fix it, Fix it, Fix it!” | Vectors and Syntax

  3. Pingback: Visual novel update! | Vectors and Syntax

Thoughts?

