Have a happy (and early) 4th!

Decided to pop in another minor update since I realized I never mentioned it the other day when I posted. The visual novel’s script has undergone a small revision, but otherwise it will remain the final one it looks like. (Knock on wood! This thing only had to be fixed 5 times now haha!) I also went ahead to finalize my game design document for it as well, which really is only a list of the order of events and how the puzzle mechanics work. Sacrificing quality of the story for the sake of adding more interaction was what led to so many revisions the last time, so this time I planned for simpler mechanics that can be realistically programmed, that way you fine folks can enjoy the story and follow along better without too many jumps.

Now that the story spans between two generations and will pop in flashbacks several times, I want to have things explained coherently. Despite the fact that I’m not fond of its battle system, I keep recalling how Final Fantasy VIII handles this since the story will also behave similarly. (Minus the spiritual body possession oddity) In VIII technically there are two protagonists you play through – Squall Leonhart and Laguna Loire, the latter’s events taking place a generation prior to the other. By the story jumping back and forth to explain the story of the game, you get a better understanding of the characters’ world and what has to be done to make things right. Since my books were written in third-person, the narration will simply just switch to whichever character you’re guiding next, and there will be cues to hint this (audio, visual, or both). Like the puzzles in the game’s story, the characters themselves are also puzzles.

Besides all of that, as announced from my deviantArt back in May, I am still in the process of moving the books to Dropbox as .pdf files, since I’ll be closing my account there once the move is complete. Unfortunately, copying text over screwed up its formatting, and saving everything out to the site’s default bare-bones HTML honestly made everything look worse. I am happy to say that Book I is almost done at least, and formatting has helped to cut down the total number of pages as well. I also am in the process of printing them as book draft copies for bookkeeping purposes, as well as physical reference. At most there will only be 10 copies for the print runs, and they will only be loaned to individuals who are involved with the project.

I’m gonna cut off here since I feel like I’m just rambling at this point. Stay safe and have a Happy 4th of July!

Thoughts?

